Absolute Chaos Discussion Boards

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Spammers will be banned. Repeat spammers will be fed to angry penguins.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 15

Author Topic: Ugh... Great minds thinking alike in the fan fic world  (Read 38285 times)

MellzBellz

• Commander of Confusion
Ugh... Great minds thinking alike in the fan fic world
« on: February 01, 2008, 11:03:06 PM »

Ok I need some advice... I admit the fan fic world is not a world filled with much originality especially in the romance genre. There's only SO much you can write. I've had A Little Taste of Sin outlined for a few months now. I'm just a VERY slow writer. Recently I came across a fic on AC with a very similair plot which is great. I've been reading it to help me with my own story and to take notes. As the story went on though I've just come to realize that completely by coincidence TWO plot points are like blatantly obviously similair. Like carbon copy similair. Now I know this author is definitely not plagarizing. (How could she when no one has seen my outline, but me and my beta Teri?) It's just the romance genre and its dumb limitations. I'm just concerned because I don't want to make it look like I'm ripping off her, but I also don't want to change my whole story around either. I mean I already started to set up one of the things.

Has anyone had this happen to you before? Any suggestions? What would you do in this situation?

mare

• Banner hater
  • Queen of Fanfiction
  • Supreme Time Waster
Re: Ugh... Great minds thinking alike in the fan fic world
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2008, 11:10:47 PM »

I think this happens a lot actually. It's happened to me several times but I guess the only thing is I was the one who had my story up first. LOL