You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: jess20 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/20/13 07:16 am Title: Epilogue (C)

Dear LORD this story was fantastic!!!! Everything... and I mean everything...was perfection! I'm going to admit that I preferred Alternative B for the  obvious reasons but even Alternative A was magnificient! You really have a gift for words and I really think you captured the essence of the boys' relationships! This is the first BSB story I've read and I was a bit hesitant because of all the sci-fi...remind me never to doubt you again - hell I think I'd even read romance if you wrote it!

Anyways, enough with my ramblings, I'm going to find another fic of yours to read! Thankyou for the fabulous read!! All the best!



Author's Response:

I have to say, when I got an email notification telling me I had a review, I automatically thought it was a spambot trying to sell me Viagara or something. I was pleasantly surprised to see it was actually you! thank you for taking the time to read thia especially since it was your very first BSB fanfic to read. I'm glad I didn't disappoint you. Also kudos to you for trying out a sci fi. I would have never done that. lol :O)

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/07/12 05:13 am Title: Epilogue (C)

I may have glanced at this "epilogue" when you originally posted it and skimmed, trying not to spoil too much of the story because I knew I wanted to go back and read it someday, but I just wanted to say that it made me as sad reading it this time as it did last time. :( I do wish you'd write more fanfic, but I'm also glad you're still on AC, as I said on the forum. I'm still hoping that when they start doing promo for the next album with Kevin, you'll get reinspired! ;)

Author's Response:

aww lol I remember you commenting in here the first time I posted! Who knows? Maybe I will! Like i said, I can see myself at least still writing one shots. Maybe by next summer my love will be restored via Kevin! :O) Thanks again!

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/07/12 05:08 am Title: Epilogue (B)

OMG Nick really came back to life?!?! WOW, that was happier than I thought it was going to be, honestly! LOL I hoped they would make it back to their world in this version, but I really thought Nick would stay dead. That was a nice surprise! It's a sci-fi, so I'll accept miraculous resurrections. I like the idea of the Backstreet Boys as a complete fivesome much better than just the four of them and dead Nick. =D I love that they got dumped off at the airport - I think I forgot to say so in my review for the A Epilogue because I was so shocked, but I liked it in that version too. I'm just glad this one had planes and people!! LOL I thought it was cool how their Matt was the doppleganger of the Matt in the post-apocalyptic universe. I had forgotten all about the Matt that died in the airplane, so I never would have made that connection LOL, and it's interesting that they didn't realize it while they were in the other universe either. The theme of redemption definitely came through when Leighanne was there to meet Brian and when Howie mentioned his gratitude over getting a second chance. I loved the very ending, with the mention of the news report about Trump... dun dun dun!!! Although I enjoyed the other ending for its shock value and the whole idea of alternate endings was fun, this whole B track was much more satisfying than the other one, so thank you for that! I will give more of an overview in my final survey, I'm sure, whenever you get around to posting that at the end of the month, but I really enjoyed this story; it was different, but really cool! You did an awesome job with it!!

Author's Response:

Of course I brought Nick back to life! I vowed never to kill the guys in my fanfics and by bringing them all back to life at the end I kind of stuck to my promise, maybe... a little? And yes, it's Sci fi so he *says in Monty Python English accent* 'got better' lol I knew i'd have them back at the airport right before they left so this way they could not get on that plane. As a joke at the end, I was going to have Leighanne still be all huffy about not taking a plane and demand to board only to have none of them try to stop her, including Brian as a final parting jab at one of my favorite people, but I decided to end it 'classy' lmao Thanks so much for reading this Julie! I can't believe you're already done with it. I honestly wasn't sure if you'd like this one or not and it was a huge relief to see you enjoyed it! It meant a lot to me! :O)

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/07/12 04:54 am Title: Chapter 41 (b)

This chapter turned out just how I thought it would! As soon as Alan died, I knew someone would need to take his place to set off the bombs. I figured it would be Nick because I knew something would keep him from going through the tear, since that obviously didn't work out so well in the other scenario LOL. I wasn't surprised when Kevin volunteered because that's such a Kevin thing to do, but I figured Nick would either step up at the end or just push Kevin through the tear at the last minute, Bruce Willis in Armageddon style. But even though I called what was going, I liked the idea of Kevin thinking he was going to die this whole chapter. It was very Deathly Hallows! Again with the HP references LOL, but that's really what it reminded me of, Harry's walk into the forest to sacrifice himself to Voldemort. It was really sad when Kevin found a way to say goodbye to each of the guys without revealing his plan. I loved the part when he said that it wasn't really Howie who was the most perceptive, it was Nick. Another part that really got me was when Kevin had told dead Nick that he would see him soon and to tell his dad he was coming... that about got me crying. :( Now onto the last chapter, for real! I can't believe I'm almost done with this story! I hope this ending is happier than the other one... I have faith in you! =P

Author's Response:

Aww, yes. This was my set up chapter for Nick to stay. Again, since everyone was reading both endings simultaneously, they didn't know this was the one Nick was staying behind but I needed to create a scenerio that had him not go with the guys and to really have them think Kevin was leaving. Since I so willingly killed off Nick once, I think people really went for the idea of Kevin dying so I loved the reactions when Nick stayed behind and Kevin let him lol Boy did I piss off a lot of people with the first ending! That was fun. And of course the second one will be happy! It's my last ending ever! lmao

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/07/12 04:42 am Title: Chapter 40 (b)

I really loved this chapter! I like how you kept the same scene of Brian sitting in the dark with Nick's body and other Nick coming in, but this one felt more poignant than the A version. The whole dynamic of them being "ghosts" to each other, as you put it, was so interesting. Brian's lost Nick, but is talking to his doppleganger, who has lost his Brian, but it seems like they had exactly the same kind of relationship in both universes. It was touching that they were able to say the things they'd never said to each other, but sad at the same time. Also, I loved that they finally told the back story at the beginning about how the world got this way. I had been wondering that the whole story, about what Trump did and why they started hunting celebrities, and again, the A track didn't really get into that at all, so I'm glad this one did. It just made the whole situation come together and make more sense. I wonder what the commotion at the end was... reading on!

Author's Response:

Thanks! I really loved this chapter. I think it's been another one of my favorites to write. It was fun coming up with that whole Trump story lol gotta love Sci Fi! Only in this world and Days of Our Lives would something so ludicrous work!

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/07/12 04:32 am Title: Chapter 39 (b)

Okay, now for the B ending! I loved all the info about what the Canadians were doing to the kids in this one. I always wondered about that, and the A track didn't really address it. It does sound like Hitler youth, and the torture Nick described sounds awful. No wonder kids were killing themselves. It's interesting that they brought up the idea of taking him with them earlier in this version than in the other version, where they really DID take him. Did you do that to throw people off as far as which ending was which? Looking forward to more back story in the next chapter!

Author's Response:

Thanks! You know this track was always the 'real' track! so it was going to be the one with all the answers. And yes, I did make it appear that this was the version that would have Nick live for a twist and for the most part it worked the way I wanted it to. hehe! I also wanted anyone who chose track A which again I knew would be most of you, want to be curious enough to check out track B and by ending it the way I did, I was hoping it would spark people to read the B track. You're the first person I know who is reading after it's all been posted so i'll be curious to see if anyone else will read B after A. :O)

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/05/12 09:51 am Title: Epilogue (A)

OMG!!! LMFAO Well damn, that sucked! All that build up in Nick's thoughts... "What if they don't accept me?" "What if I just want to be me and not him?" Only to go back to that moment in his world when they killed all the guys! GAH!!! I hate you for that twist, but I love you for it too, cause that is such a CYOA kind of ending! That said, I hope the B ending is a little more satisfying. =P

Author's Response:

I am really mean, I know lol the thing is, I knew most of my readers were going to pick this one & there was no way it was going to have a happy ending. I knew one of these endings all the boys would die so I figured this would be the one. That's what happens when you try to bring a doppelgänger into your world. It never works out too well! Hehe :-) 

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/05/12 09:44 am Title: Chapter 41 (a)

Yay, he brought other Nick! I'm sure that had to be really had, to leave Nick's body behind, but I think this was the right choice to make, for all the reasons Kevin gave. The image of Kevin and Nick taking turns hauling Nick's body on their shoulders was really poignant. I loved the moment in the museum when Kevin saw the T-Rex skeleton and thought how much Nick would have enjoyed seeing it, and then he looked over and saw other Nick looking up at it in fascination. Nick wondering if there are dinosaurs in Heaven that you can have as pets was really cute; it made me laugh. And now to see if the hole in the wall really worked! Onto Epilogue A!

Author's Response:

Thanks! Yeah to me it seemed like the right choice for Kevin to make. I mean why leave a perfectly living and breathing Nick to die when he had the option of saving his life. Glad you liked the t Rex thing lol I thought it was cute too! 

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/05/12 09:32 am Title: Chapter 40 (a)

Another really sad chapter... I felt so bad for Brian when he finally broke down, and the way he was talking to dead Nick broke my heart. You did a great job showing how conflicted he was over interacting with the other Nick. It was really cool of other Nick to volunteer to carry Nick's body for them. I think he's probably a good person, same as Nick, and I think the guys are starting to see that. I'm anxious to find out what will happen when they go to the site of this tear and if it will really work. I'm imagining them finding themselves in the Jurassic era, fleeing dinosaurs or something LOL (another South Park reference, sorry.)

Author's Response:

I thought of the fleeing dinosaurs thing too lol that would have been an amusing end. Thanks again for the compliments about the emotions in this chapter with Brian. what weird conflicted emotions he must have had. As far as Nick carrying Nick, I needed to figure put a way to have him go with the guys & that seemed the most logical way to get him there if anything can be called logical in this story lol thanks, Julie! 

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/05/12 09:22 am Title: Chapter 39 (a)

Yay, I finally hit the part where it splits! I think I'm gonna try to read the whole A track tonight and go back for the B next time so I don't get them confused. AJ's anger in this chapter was totally justified, but I'm glad he was able to calm down. I'm glad they brought the other Nick in to help him. I can't imagine how freaky that must be, to be looking at a clone that looks and sounds just like your dead friend. I wonder how different from our Nick he really is, just from his different experiences in this world. The end of this chapter was so sad, with Brian sitting in the dark room with dead Nick, reliving the memory of him being afraid to be alone when he was younger. It seems like that will lead to some compassion for the other Nick, who might be struggling with the same thing.

Author's Response:

Good, I'm glad you chose to read it that way. I would recommend doing one track at a time but as I was writing it,  sure people just read one then the other. That was one of the big challenges when it came to the CYOA thing. I'm glad you found AJ's anger justified and I felt bad for poor Brian in this one too. :-( poor other Nick. It's fun having two Nicks to torture!

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/05/12 09:10 am Title: Chapter 38

Okay, first of all, I want you to know that I laughed out loud forever at the first paragraph of this chapter, the one about Howie liking to sit on his parents' dresser like he was a cat. Once he explained it, it didn't sound quite so weird, but the visual I got in that first paragraph was hilarious. It reminded me of the part in "Stepbrothers" (which is a really stupid movie, but this one part cracked me up) where the dad goes on and on about how all he wanted to be when he was a kid was a T-Rex. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I8gY0IT0CuA)

As for the rest of the chapter... I loved the conversation with Charlie. He and his family really are incredibly brave, but I think it'd be easier to make that kind of sacrifice in their situation - their world seems so shitty that, like Howie thought, they'd want to make an exit one way or another. Still, it's very brave, and I love that Matt was able to spread the word to get all the innocent people out of the city before they blow it up. I'm glad the possibility of Charlie and co. coming back through with the guys was at least brought up, even if it wasn't a good idea. I'm guessing the "bastard" who showed up at the end is the other Nick. Yay Other Nick! Even if he killed our Nick, I still want Kevin to pull him through so he can be a Backstreet Boy again!

Author's Response:

Lmao that's hilarious! I don't even know where that cat story came from. Poor weird, Howie! I think between all the lose and tragedy these poor people have experienenced, death would probably be a blessing. Still, I'm not sure I could make that brave a choice either. And yup, time for other Mick to show up again :) lol

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/05/12 08:54 am Title: Chapter 37

YES, CYOA! I vote bring the other Nick through tear! LOL As for the actual chapter... I felt so bad for Kevin in this one. I like how you did the time and place as "Who cares?" because that definitely fit his whole attitude for most of the chapter, understandably. I could just feel the guilt eating away at him. How horrible that he was the one who had to hear Nick's last words, begging him not to let him die and saying how scared he was. :( I'm glad he pulled it together in the end and got the old hero complex back so he can lead the Boys out of this world, hopefully! Sounds like Matt is gonna sabotage the Canadians and end the world on his own terms - love it! I wonder if it's possible for Charlie and the gang to go through the tear with the Boys, but I guess they'd face the same problem as Nick with the whole doppleganger issue. Can't wait to see what Kevin decides to do about Nick/Nick's body and what the consequences of that decision will be in each scenario!

Author's Response:

Thanks, Julie! Yup the CYOA is getting closer but you already know that lol I realized that I goofed on the location. You were probably like wtf? This is where an outline would have been a good thing. But enough beating myself up with the museum thing lol thanks for the compliments. It was kind of fun writing them grieving. I haven't written super angst in a long time so it was fun to do it for a few chapters. :-) and thanks for the who knows & who cares reference. I'm sure by then that was the general mood. I probably would have given up at that point. 

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/05/12 08:42 am Title: Chapter 36

:( The title of this chapter said it all LOL - you really did do what you said you'd never do! And you did it well. It was sad to watch the guys go through all the different stages of grief - the denial, thinking Nick might still be alive, the anger, with Howie punching Don (LOL), the sadness of course, and finally, the acceptance, as AJ said goodbye in the end. Very sad. :( Now they need to go find the other Nick to be a replacement, just like creepy people who clone their pets! :)

Author's Response:

That's pretty convenient, isn't it? Ah well, our Nick just died but luckily there is an extra one roaming around somewhere! I'm glad you enjoyed the emotions in this chapter and I loved making Howie punch Don. He's had it coming for awhile and Howie seemed like the perfect candidate for the job! Thanks, Julie! Once again time to charge the iPod lol I'll be back later! 

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/05/12 08:34 am Title: Chapter 35

Aww, Nick. :( I knew he was going to die, but I didn't expect it to be from his twin from a parallel universe murdering him LOL. If I were the other Nick, though, I guess I'd do the same thing and guarantee that I'd be the one to survive. Poor Nick, though. Once again, after reading your end note about taking a winter hiatus after this chapter, I'm really glad I'm reading it now - I would have wanted to kill you for leaving us hanging on that! LOL As a final random thought, I wonder what kind of creepy project Matt is working on for the Canadians.

Author's Response:

You know, when you finally decide to kill one of the guys after vowing never to do it, what better way than having his doppelgänger Stab him? I'm sure it gave Nick something to brag about in the afterlife! It seemed like the next logical step for the other Nick to try to kill this one. Survival of the fittest & yes, this was a really mean place to leave things off. That was really cruel of me! Thanks, Julie! 

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/05/12 08:25 am Title: Chapter 34

I love that there's a tear in the space-time continuum at Shea Stadium! LOL Are there really a lot of disappearances that happen around there? The Bermuda Triangle reference was a good way to make it seem plausible. Did the show Numb3rs revolve around this kind of sci-fi stuff, or was it more solving mysteries in the real world? LOL I have lots of questions for this one filler chapter! I'm glad you explained how Matt was able to maintain such a normal lifestyle with electricity and everything, so it didn't seem too good to be true. I hope they can really trust him... Canadians can be shifty. =P LOL Guess it won't matter if they get caught by the people outside.

Author's Response:

Thanks! Numb3rs dealt mainly with solving cases using math & science but Larry & Amita were the scientists & often talked about trying to search for those things. One of their main goals was searching for that God particle that they just found lol no sci fi in Numb3rs though, that would have been cool!! No one has actually disappeared from Shea to my knowledge. Just put it in there to pay homage to my Mets! I don't remember how I steered them away from there & towards the museum lol I hope I did & it's not one of those inconsistencies I talked about lol yeah, never trust a Canadian!! They are shady folks, eh? :-)

You must login (register) to review.