Reviews For Soldier Down
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/16 08:52 pm Title: Epilogue

Hm... interesting ending! This leaves it open for a sequel or spin-off; have you thought about writing one? I'm a little disappointed that Ashley doesn't seem to have been involved, but at the same time, I kinda like the idea of Brian leaving Leighanne for a fanfic writer... :) I loved this story so much, and I'm glad I made myself sit down and start reading it again and not let myself get distracted this time. It was definitely worth the read! I hope you write more group suspense stories like this one and Dodging the Daylight. I see you've been updating another one that also looks interesting, which I will check out at some point, but I wanted to read this one first since it's already finished. :)

Author's Response: I left it open the way that I did on purpose. I had intended to start a spin-off, but then I got distracted with everything that's been going on in my "real" life and never got around to it. Now, I'm working on my most-recent venture so my idea has been put on the back-burner once again. If Brian ever left Leighanne for another lady, that lady better hire a bodyguard (she would be lynched by the fans)! Anyways, thank you so much for all of your amazing feedback!! I've had an excellent start to my day reading all of your reviews. If you do get a chance to check out my current story, that would be amazing! It's a group story - suspense - so, hopefully, I can draw you into that one as well. You always leave such great comments that give me the motivation to keep writing!

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/16 08:47 pm Title: Chapter 32: I Hear You

Awwww, yay! I loved this chapter. I'm all verklempt! The line about having two scars and the ladies going wild next time Brian takes off his shirt made me laugh!

Author's Response: I go wild every time Brian takes his shirt off! *drools*

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/16 08:42 pm Title: Chapter 31: Last Chances

Aww, this chapter had me near tears! I love how you gave them each a moment to reflect on their relationship with Brian and say their goodbyes. So sad, but beautiful at the same time! I love the bromance!

Author's Response: Yay for bromance!! From a writer's perspective, teary eyed is a great compliment!! Sorry to make you sad though. :)

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/16 08:35 pm Title: Chapter 30: Truth, Lies, and Revenge

Hm... well, that explains how he was able to get to them, but I'm still not convinced that Ashley wasn't involved. We'll see!

Author's Response: Wow, you sure do have it in for Ashley!! She's so nice though ...

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/16 08:31 pm Title: Chapter 29: Did You See Him?

Ahh, I love it!! My stomach was all clenched up reading this chapter. I gotta find out what happens to Brian! I think it's perfect that you made the worse thing happen to him, not only because it makes sense that Charlie would want revenge on Brian specifically for taking his place, but also because you've shown throughout the story that Brian is basically the magnetic center of the group; everyone else is drawn to him. Without him, they would fall apart. I'm wondering if something will still happen to Nick, though, since he's the only one who hasn't gotten hurt. If he makes it out of this unscathed, it will be the only time that's ever happened to him in a fanfic!! LOL

Author's Response: I tend to present Nick as being the center of the group, so I decided to change things up this time to show what it would be like with Brian as the "necessary" member. In reality, I don't think that the group could run as a foursome without Nick or Brian (or even AJ for that matter). Sorry Howie and Kevin!! In reference to Nick not getting hurt; there's always a first time for everything!!

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/16 08:23 pm Title: Chapter 28: What Had We Done?

Ahh, this chapter was so sad - and so suspenseful!! I love A-Rok. I'm not totally surprised they changed up what was going to happen; obviously, they knew Nick would be wearing a bullet-proof vest so they shot Brian instead. Ahh, must keep reading!!

Author's Response: I love me a good A-Rok moment! The two of them are just so different that it's so cute when they're together. :)

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/16 08:18 pm Title: Chapter 27: Bad Connection

Charlie!!! Yes! I called it! I don't know what else to say; I just have to keep reading to see what goes down at the concert!

Author's Response: I'm so proud of you!! Excellent detective work!!

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/16 08:09 pm Title: Chapter 26: The Loser

Thank you, Howie! Finally, some suggests Ashley could be involved! I can't believe the others aren't even willing to consider that idea. Howie's jealousy of Brian, though... wow! So much drama; I love it!

Author's Response: Yay, Howie!! Sometimes I forget about Howie, so I tried hard to include him in this story. I tried to give him some actual feelings so that he was more than just a "background" "plot advancer".

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/16 08:01 pm Title: Chapter 25: I Missed You

I'm glad Nick found them in time, not to stop Brian from cheating, but to stop him from getting stabbed! Obviously I still think Ashley is a villain LOL. I love the conversation between Brian and Nick at the end of this chapter, especially where Brian admitted he's been trying to live this perfect life and Nick told him he liked him better with flaws because it made him more like Nick. I love that!! Sometimes I wish fanfics were real life, just without all the terrible things happening LOL. (Which is why this is such a great premise for a story, someone bringing fanfics to life WITH all the terrible things happening!)

Author's Response: OMG I totally agree with you - "not to stop Brian from cheating, but to stop him from getting stabbed"! A little part of me wanted Brian to actually go just a biiiiiit farther with Ashley. In the end, I just couldn't let him do it though. I wimped out!! Awww Nick!! I just love him to bits!

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/16 07:54 pm Title: Chapter 24: Pickles

Ahh, Nick, you are so dumb! I think Ashley's dating either Sam or Charlie, and they put her up to writing the story, and now she is luring Brian off somewhere to be stabbed. I do like the name of her cat, though. Pickles!

Author's Response: Awwwww, poor Nicky!! He needs to be more perceptive ... and less drunk. LOL FYI, I have no clue why I named the cat "Pickles" ...

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/16 07:46 pm Title: Chapter 23: Back On Your Leash

"Y'all clearly have some other issues going on." LMAO, that says it all! I loved AJ's description of Brian here: "For the first time in my life, I was seeing the real Brian; the one with crow’s feet and thinning hair. This was the Brian who was stressed and struggling to keep up the persona of having a perfect life. This was the Brian who so often came across as a self-righteous prick because he was scared of losing his voice, of losing everything in his life that really mattered to him." That made me sad, but I think there's some truth to it.

Author's Response: I also think that there's some truth to it. How could he not be scared of it all falling apart? Sometimes I feel as though Brian tries a little too hard to convince the world that his life is all roses and sunshine. Just be real, man! The fans will love him for it in the end!

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/16 07:36 pm Title: Chapter 22: The Show Must Go On

Thank you, Kevin, for being the voice of reason, as always! Again, I love the underlying relationship drama that is starting to tear them apart. This is so good!

Author's Response: Kevin is ALWAYS the voice of reason. Honestly, I don't know how else to write him!

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/16 07:23 pm Title: Chapter 21: Stolen

Aww, poor Howie. I can't believe no one is considering the possibility that Ashley either sent the threatening email to herself or planned the whole thing with someone else, seeing as how it was traced to her restaurant. Maybe she doesn't know anything about it, but it seems a little too convenient. I love the idea of her having to continue her story under pressure, though, and the FBI using it to catch who's after the guys.

Author's Response: I know, right?! Come on FBI, let's get things together and consider ALL of the possibilities! HAHA If the police told me to keep writing in order to help save the lives of the BSB, I think that I would just collapse and die from the pressure of it all!! :P

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/16 07:16 pm Title: Chapter 20: Reality Bites

Hm, so maybe they ARE plotting their next move based on her story?? I don't know... I still tend to think she's involved and just faking the tears. I forgot to mention it in my last review, but I love the subplot you've got going about the guys' competing relationships with each other - Nick, AJ, and Howie all being jealous of each other's friendship with Brian and so on. That relationship dynamics between them are really interesting. It does seem like Brian has distanced himself from Leighanne and that is what is affecting things; it would be nice to see that happen in real life LOL. I don't really mind Leighanne and have found that it helps to suck up to her to get what you want, but she and Brian are so attached at the hip it's obnoxious at times! I'm going off on a tangent LOL, but anyway... reading on!

Author's Response: To add to your tangent, I sometimes feel that Leighanne forgets that she isn't a Backstreet Boy! LOL It's great that her and Brian love each other and have an amazing relationship, but sometimes I would like to feel as though she isn't always hovering around. None of the other wives seem to be around as much. Honestly, I don't think I would even recognize any of the other wives if I were to walk past them on the street (well, maybe I would recognize Lauren in a "that chick looks really familiar" kind of way). Anyways, thanks for the feedback on the relationship aspect of the story - sometimes, that's my favourite bit to write.

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/16 07:08 pm Title: Chapter 19: Predicting the Future

I love all the stuff about fanfic in here, how fans love when really, REALLY bad stuff happens to Nick in them LOL. So true. I'm having a hard time believing Ashley is not somehow more involved in this than she's letting on, though. Unless this is going the fantasy route, there's no way she's somehow predicting the future with her story, and I don't see how someone else could wait until she posts a new chapter to plan their next attack. I'm still thinking she has to be connected to Sam or Charlie and is just acting innocent, but who knows, my theories could be way off! Either way, I'm really enjoying this story! Your inbox is going to be full of reviews! :)

Author's Response: Ha! Poor Nick! How many times has he been tortured, or maimed, or killed off? If he actually knew what was written about him, he would probably be a bit scared of his fans. Seriously though, Nick torture makes for the best read! I love how your still clinging to the Sam/Charlie connection at this point. Good for you!

You must login (register) to review.