You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: DelphinaCarter Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/11/17 09:53 am Title: Chapter 5

I loved the scene with Nick and BJ and how Nick wanted to do something for himself and not anyone else. I feel like that's why he wanted to pursue Brian, because it felt different and interesting and that's why he likes him. I feel like being friends won't end well but let's see how it goes. Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Definitely, I feel like Nick has this seed of attraction to Brian and he's clinging to it because it's really all he's got. We'll see what happens with them just trying to be friends, lol. Thanks for the review! x

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/06/17 05:36 am Title: Chapter 5

Oh yeah, just be friends; I'm sure that'll work out great. ;) I like how you have the scenes in each chapter sort of parallel each other. It was nice to see Brian and Nick back to their separate lives, but feeling the same frustration with the people around them and longing for each other. Somehow I don't think it will be long before they're back together.

Author's Response: Thanks! I did want to show that even though they aren't really "together" at this point in the story they both do have similar issues underlying. You may be right about them not being apart for long... ;)

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/29/17 03:42 am Title: Chapter 4

I'm enjoying these weekly updates of yours; I found myself looking forward to this one. I loved the awkward morning-after scene, although that was pretty shitty of Brian to blow Nick off like that with the "I have a girlfriend" line - true or not. It's interesting that he decided to tell Kevin about it - I didn't see that one coming! And Kevin was very chill about it. I think the advice he gave Brian was good... he does need to decide what he wants one way or the other, either go back to Leighanne and forget about Nick or break up with Leighanne. Somehow I don't think he's going to just forget about Nick, LOL. One other thing I wanted to mention - the fact that this story is set twenty years ago instead of in the present makes it extra interesting because the world was a different place for the LGBTQ community in 1997. Pop stars who have since come out, like Lance Bass and Ricky Martin, were very much still in the closet in the late 90s. I'm not sure how much the time period will come into play in this story, but that plus Brian's faith plus the fact that he does have a girlfriend add some great conflict or potential for conflict.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you're enjoying the regular updates! Brian could have let down a bit easier, but I guess he was sort of freaked out about the whole thing. I originally wasn't going to have Brian say anything to Kevin, but then he just blurted it out as I was writing, lol. I feel like it's unlikely he will just forget about Nick, you're probably right in that theory ;) I did think about the timeframe of this and how different things were 20 years ago. It's also sort of hard to get back into the mindset of how not progressive things were back then, as well as remembering that there's no Twitter and instant access to the guys all the time. So it did give me some interesting angles to play with. Thanks again for the review!

Reviewer: DelphinaCarter Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/29/17 03:21 am Title: Chapter 4

Oh Brian. He's so cute when he's in denial. Such denial. Haha. He's totally gone but he doesn't want to admit it yet and Kevin didn't help much either. I mean I'm glad he was somewhat supportive but he is right, no good can come out of this if he's not willing to break up with Leighanne...and we all know how that would end up. Loving this story, Steph. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Such denial indeed, lol. Kevin didn't really help, but yeah it's not like he's going to say "Totally you should leave Leighanne for this dude you just met!" (Even though Brian totes should haha) Thanks Tracy!

Reviewer: DelphinaCarter Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/25/17 12:59 am Title: Chapter 3

Ooh that kissing scene...*insert heart eyes emojis* this chapter was great. I loved them poking fun at Nick's voice and AJ making a joke about Kevin. Sounds like something they'd do in real life too. Loving this so far. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Awww thanks! I mean how can you not make fun of young Nick's nasally voice? lol. Glad you're enjoying it :)

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/23/17 12:34 am Title: Chapter 3

Oooh, this did heat up quickly! Loved it! You may be making a slash fan of me because I didn't giggle or cringe at all reading the last scene. I like how, once Brian actually got with Nick, you made Nick seem not so perfect - saying he wasn't a great kisser, his hair wasn't as soft as Brian had expected, etc. That made it so much more believable - reality doesn't usually live up to the fantasy. Not that Brian seemed to mind much. ;) Going back to earlier in the chapter, it was weird reading Brian singing Nick's lyrics and remembering that Nick isn't in the group. I liked Nick joking around about Backstreet's Back and "where'd y'all go?" I remember being confused about that too when that song became popular in the States because I didn't know, at the time, that they'd already released another album in other countries. I also liked the beginning of the chapter with slap-happy AJ; I think you were spot on with how you wrote him there. I was watching his Instagram story yesterday where he was making chocolate bars with his friends, and I decided AJ might be kind of annoying to hang out with in real life LOL. At least that's how he always seems to come across in his social media videos. Anyway, I think you showed the side of him well in this chapter!

Author's Response: Yeah, I didn't really want to go for much of a slow burn LOL. I'm glad you liked the kissing scene and thought it was believeable because I really didn't know how I felt about it when I was writing it. I feel like Backstreet's Back definitely would have been weird to you guys in the US so it's nice to know I wasn't totally off the mark with that. Poor AJ lol - I agree that he seems like he'd be sort of annoying to hang out with in real life. Thanks for the review! x

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/15/17 09:49 pm Title: Chapter 2

I loved the first scene of this chapter with Brian lying awake all night, thinking about Nick and trying not to. That was so true to life; we've all had those nights where we just can't shut off our brain long enough to fall asleep. Nick definitely seems to have taken in interest in Brian, too, though maybe not to the same extent. I really like how you have Brian with Leighanne here at the beginning so you'll be able to show how he went from this outwardly "straight" guy to having a relationship with another man (at some point, I assume). That adds to the believability for me. I'm also interested to see how his heart surgery will factor in to the rest of the storyline. Really enjoying this!

Author's Response: Thanks! Isn't it just the worst when that happens and you can't sleep? It happens to me way too much, so I'm glad it came off well here haha. Yeah, I had to throw good old Leighanne in there for some eventual drama ;) His heart surgery will definitely come into play in a larger capacity as the story goes on. Glad you're still enjoying it, Julie. Thanks again x

Reviewer: Rose Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/10/17 11:10 am Title: Chapter 1

So I clicked on this because it's you Steph and I know how good a writer you are. And even though I'm not much of a slash reader in the BSB fandom SAMS did make me more open minded about it. I like how this is an AU but sort of not. The "What If" of the BSB fandom and where that could've gone. I like that you still retained some BSB history like AJ/Howie seeing Nick at auditions and I'm curious to see where you take this

Author's Response: Thanks Rose, that's so sweet :) I'm glad you're giving it a chance. I felt I should still tie Nick to AJ/Howie so he'd have a bit of relationship with the group instead of waltzing into their world blind, lol. Thanks again x

Reviewer: DelphinaCarter Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/08/17 06:45 am Title: Chapter 1

Ooh I am really enjoying this so far. Love that twist that Nick chose MMC instead of the boys...curious how this is going to be. Great job!

Author's Response: Awww thanks Tracy! I've had the idea for a while, so I'm glad you liked the slight AU twist on it :) Hope you enjoy x

Reviewer: RokofAges75 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/08/17 03:54 am Title: Chapter 1

Yay, you posted your story!! It's good to see your name on here again! I had to check this out. You know I'm not much of a slash fan, but writing SAMS made me more open to it. Also, I love a good Brian and Nick story! I love the time period it's set in, and the premise of "What if Nick had chosen Mickey Mouse Club instead of BSB?" is super interesting. I like that it's sort of AU, but still BSB. Nice hybrid of the two. I really liked this first chapter. The way you wrote Brian reacting to Nick was so spot-on. There is just something about him that does that to you!! I wasn't even a Nick fan back in this time, but even I was drawn like a magnet to him when he sang I Need You Tonight/Heaven in Your Eyes, like on the A Night Out video. That's still one of my favorite performances of his to watch; in fact, I want to go look it up on YouTube right now LOL. Anyway, you managed to make Brian's attraction to him believable, which is a huge accomplishment and will make it much easier for me to enjoy reading this story. :) Great start!

Author's Response: Awww thanks Julie :) It's funny you say that writing SAMS made you more open to reading slash because reading that story made me more open to writing it in this fandom, haha. I'm glad you thought Brian's attraction to Nick was believable, because even when writing it I still wasn't sure about it or the pairing. But I figured if I was going to go with something "back in the day" I'd go for classic Frick and Frack. I definitely watched a bunch of old videos of Nick performing I Need You Tonight when I was researching for this, he really is mesmerizing! I'm glad that came off here. Thanks again x

You must login (register) to review.